MAKE UP BAG

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/13230545/?claim=zmae45xaeb6″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>I started out calling this post ‘Make up Routine’ then ‘Everyday Make up Routine’ and decided that the word Routine is rather misleading when it comes to beauty blogging. Routine suggests consistency, pattern, a kind of regularity and for me, my make up ‘routine’ is anything but!  I suppose ‘Current Make up Routine’ would have worked but it’s too late, I’m calling the shots here and I’m calling these posts a short and sweet ‘Make Up Bag’ There are a few staples that I have been using but that’s the thing, tomorrow my mood shall change or I’ll possibly find a new favorite ‘must have’, so for the intent of living life in the moment, this is what today brought in all it’s highlighting, concealing, blushing glory!

‘Because you know I’m all about that base,’Bout that base, no treble’ Yup, currently I have been quite focused on the base for my face. (Of course we should all be looking after our skin first and foremost, we all know this, good skincare is tres important, makes for a good canvas if you will, I’m focusing on make up today.) I have been sampling quite a few foundations lately to see what works well for me, it is overwhelming out there but there is something to suit everyone and places should do samples for you to try, don’t be shy!

On a personal note, I don’t love wearing a lot of make up (I do get this one wrong at times!) I don’t love how it looks or the feel of it. I prefer to keep things simple and natural looking. Fresh, healthy and glowing is my mantra!

Here is where I started, a little blotchy…

IMG_0765.JPG

Foundation – MAC Studio Fix Fluid (NW20) – To be honest, I’m using this at the moment because I want to finish it quickly and move on. It is a nice foundation but I think there are better ones out there. I recently sampled the Clarins True Radiance one which is so beautiful, made my skin radiant, truly! The Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation which I thought was way better than my MAC one. I also sampled the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua recently which is perfection!

Concealer – Revlon Colorstay in medium – I really like this concealer, the application is like a lipgloss, the formula is not too thick and cakey and I find the coverage good.

Bronzer – Body Shop Bronzing Powder in medium – I bought this because I had seen it mentioned a few times on various beauty blogs. What I like about it is it’s subtle and a simple dust along the temples, cheekbone and under the jaw line works well for a bit of a sun kiss.

Highlighter/Contour – Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick in Bronze – baby steps for me here I’m afraid! Again, I want to try keep things simple. I like to lightly sweep this along the cheek bone, it just seems to add a little something. I did a review on it a little while ago here.

Blush – Stila baked cheek duo in Pink Glow – I tend to go in with the darker side (hee hee) with a little dab to the apples of my cheeks.

Eyes – My eyes have been so sensitive lately so I have been trying to find easier less aggravating ways for them to look alive! I found The Body Shop All-in-One tinted concealer + primer colour intensifier (what a mouthful). Tinted primer – yes, concealer – no. This definitely intensifies the colour of my eyeshadows and I like the formula, not sure they should be labeling it a concealer. Next is my MAC Paint Pot in Vintage Selection. When I don’t have time or my eyes are feeling sensitive, I run this over my eye lid and that’s it. I quite like a cream eye shadow and I like being able to use one shade over the eye, this one is a beautiful champagne shimmer.  I then curl my lashes and for mascara I have been trying the new Rimmel Wonder’full Mascara with Argan oil. I love the fact that this has argan oil in it! It is a fairly uncomplicated mascara, I would say that it lengthens lashes but doesn’t make them look really full. I’m going with a natural look, it is doing the job and it doesn’t seem to be aggravating me eyes either! Of course a little eye liner, so I run a bit of my Essence Kajal pencil in Teddy along my bottom lash line.

Brows – Revlon Brow Fantasy in brunette – I am a little undecided about this one, probably because my brows need some serious love and help at the moment. I’m trying it out anyway and will let you know my thoughts on it.

Lips – Palmers Cocoa Butter Lip Balm is a really good friend of mine, we go way back! Today I am feeling the Lasting Finish by Kate Lipstick/Rossetto 14 and a bit of my MAC Satin lippy in Myth. Does anyone else mix lipsticks together?

And Bob’s you’re Aunt!

IMG_0775.JPG

IMG_0786.JPG

IMG_0782.JPG

2 responses to “MAKE UP BAG

Leave a Reply

