Favorites

“Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things”

IMG_0876.JPG

Given all the rain we have had here in the KZN Midlands, one might argue that summer has abandoned us this year and I won’t be storing my woolen mittens away any time soon! Watching the clouds roll over the hillside today, I wait and prepare! Here are a few of my recent favorites; some which are sure to be ammo in my summer arsenal…when it ever gets here.

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Sunless Tanner & Instant Bronzer SPF15 – I’m not well versed in self tan and haven’t really liked many that I have tried until now. This smells yummy unlike many, it’s moisturising and gives an instant bronze finish. Most of all it’s not too scary and I don’t fear looking like an ‘Orangina’

Environ RAD SPF15 Antioxidant Sunscreen – this is a rich sun cream for face and body but I find it works very well despite the minimal SPF of 15. I like this on a day to day basis and tend to have it with me when I’m out and about. Of course if you are going to be in the sun a lot, you’ll need something stronger.

Clarins Hydra-Matte Lotion – this is a beautiful hydrating face lotion that has a matte finish for combination skin. As the warmer months roll around, I find this works really well. It’s hydrating but not greasy and has a lovely smooth formula. This also comes with me on trips to Durban when it’s a bit hot or muggy as it doesn’t leave my skin feeling greasy and works well under my foundation.

Body Shop Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter for Dry hair – After the dry winter months and a dose of ‘Ombre’ my hair needed some TLC! I am loving this hair treatment, it leaves my hair soft, glossy and feeling nourished. There are no silicons, colourants or parabens and it smells lovely, like honey.

Essie Nail Lacquer in ‘Sole Mate’ – I know what you’re thinking, this is the opposite of summer as far as nail polish colours go! It definitely says more Gluhwein by the fire place than eating shell fish on the beach but I don’t care, I am in love with it! So instead I am paying homage to the Beauties in colder climates right now who will be cuddling by the fire, wearing scarves and sipping red wine.

 Gosh Mineral Waterproof Eye Shadow in 005 Gold- Golden like summer days, easy to apply and waterproof, what more does a girl need to brighten up her eyes while lying pool side!

NYX Rouge Cream Blush in ‘Bronze Goddess’ – I’s called a cream blush but it is a cream bronzer and a little goes a long way. As long as you use it in the right places (like under cheek bone) and blend well, it is lovely. I also enjoyed experimenting with contouring with this as you can be a bit more precise using your fingers.

 Love Wrendley

xxx

Leave a Reply

